Potato donuts

Published September 12, 2014 by Ninik Becker

potato donuts

Still on potato and this time, donuts. Or doughnuts? Potato Donuts

The recipe is from my mother that she often made when I was small cute kid.

I like small donuts too!

potato donuts

Because I think that the small one more comfortable to eat than the jumbo one. I mean I feel comfortable to devour ha..ha..ha..

Do you like some? Come to my home and we enjoy them with a hot drink !

potato donuts

Eat two mini donuts will not make you bigger, unless you gobble up a dozen of them at the same time.

potato donuts

Well let’s make it.

These ingredients make about 20-22 pieces mini size and less if you make bigger size.

Ingredients A :

  • 2 medium potato, boiled, mashed evenly
  • 300 g flour, separate half-half
  • 1 sachet dried yeast, dissolve with 50 ml warm water
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 2 tbsp milk powder ( I used coffee creamers)
  • 2 eggs

Extra flour for kneading

Ingredients B :

  • 2 tbsp butter ( I used margarine ), melted
  • 1/2 tsp salt

In a large mixing bowl, mix together ingredients A, use a half (150 g) of flour.

potato donuts dough

I mixed it with a wooden spoon into sticky dough. Cover with a towel and let rest warm place for 30 minutes (first rest). I put near the window with bright sunlight.

donuts dough

After 30 minutes and the dough rise, add ingredients B and the rest of the flour to the dough.

Knead until smooth and elastic, if still sticky please sprinkle with extra flour as needed. Potato dough will make it more sticky than just flour dough.

After the dough smooth and elastic enough, cover again and let rise for about an hour (second rest).

donut dough

After rise for second rest, roll out the dough with a rolling-pin on floured work surface. Cut into circular shape and make small hole in the middle.

I used glass rim to cut the dough and make the hole in the middle with bottle cap. I don’t have donut mold. Do you see a yellow bottle cap in the top corner?

donut dough

Fry in plenty of oil with medium low heat. High heat will make donut burst or broken.

frying donuts

Flip them to have evenly golden colour. I fried them in few batch.

frying donuts

Place fried donuts on paper towels to release excess oil. Let it cool.

potato donuts

Make topping as you like. I made some chocolate glaze then sprinkle with chocolate and coloured sprinkles, some with powder sugar.

The fact is, my husband Big Bear, came home from work and he had finished five pieces.

Yumm…the texture was perfect!  Puffy!

Crisp outside and some small hollow inside. Enjoy with hot drinks.

potato donuts

 

 

Leave a Reply

