Spätzle (plain)

Published September 15, 2014 by Ninik Becker

spätzle

One of my lovely readers BRE, asked about Spätzle that once I promised when I shared this recipe. The original one use spelt flour but I used all-purpose flour.
At that time I had intended to share the recipe in the next post and turns out I forgot. Thank you for reminding me BRE !

Well, this simple dish comes from a region of Germany’s southwestern state Baden Württemberg. Here in Germany usually eaten as a side dish enjoy with meat dishes and maybe a sauce. Or just simply cook with onion or bacon. Some people making it with cheese.

Today I made it the plain one, very easy.

spätzle

After spätzle ready, it is up to you to enjoy it as you wish.

spätzle

I got the recipe from Frau Schneider, my neighbor.

Plain Spätzle (2 to 3 serving)

Ingredients:

  • 150 g flour, sift
  • 2 large eggs
  • salt
  • a pinch of nutmeg powder
  • water for boiling

Directions:

Put flour in a bowl, add eggs, a pinch of salt and a pinch of nutmeg powder.

Mix together until smooth into a thick batter. Thicker than pancake batter.

Boil water in a pot with some salt in it.

After boiling, reduce the heat a bit.

  •  Use spätzle maker(if you have) or potato masher or strainer or slotted spoon. Put the batter on one of them, let the batter fall through the holes into the simmering water.

Or

  •  Use chopping board and knife with position near the pot. One hand hold the chopping board with the batter on it, one hand hold the knife. Quickly cut the batter with knife, one cut at time throw into the pot.

Let cook until they float on the surface. Time to floating depending on the thickness.

spätzle

Remove with slotted spoon.

spätzle

And put in cold water.

spätzle

I have put in cold water per batch, and then drain use strainer.

Put in a plate ready to eat as side dish or fry with your choice, butter, onion, bacon etc.

I made two different size, thin and thick size and this time I use chopping board and knife technique

spätzle

 

Leave a Reply

