Turkey Stew with Mashed Potato

Published February 11, 2015 by Ninik Becker

Turkey stew mashed potato

Turkey Stew with Mashed Potato recipe by Ninik Becker.

My grandma said, after eating turkey you will feel sleepy and my fitness friend said, turkey is low-fat protein, she ate turkey sandwiches a few times per months.

Well, yes turkey is high protein and low-fat and contain cholesterol too. The amount of cholesterol in turkey depends of the darkness of the meat. Turkey breast and turkey thighs have different cholesterol content.

But actually for me as blatantly food lover, I love food and I eat a lot. I eat what I want to eat and doing exercise for balance and this is work for me, regardless the food is fat or low-fat.

Back to turkey that my grandma said it will make me sleepy after eating it. I chose turkey breast for this recipe.

Even turkey breast has fat in there, you see ? I remove before cut, especially because Big Bear hate those any kind of white colours in, on, inside the meat. Though only a piece of white fiber in the meat, kind of white thread, he will remove it. Picture below is bit more than 1 kg of turkey breast, I used only some of it for the dish.

From this..

Fresh turkey breast

To this..

Stew turkey, mashed potato and green beans

Ingredients :

  • 300-400 g turkey breast, remove the fat, cut bite size
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cups vegetable/chicken stock
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tomato, chopped
  • 2 tbsp chilli powder
  • 1 tsp paprika powder
  • a pinch of dried parsley and oregano
  • salt and pepper

Mashed potato and vegetable to serve.

Method :

  1. Heat oil, brown turkey breast until turned colour, add the onion and stir until softened.
  2. Pour the stock and bring to boil.
  3. Add the rest of ingredients, stir well.
  4. Reduce the heat and cook covered until turkey tender, the liquid reduced and slightly thickened.
  5. Adjust the seasoning to your taste.

Serve with mashed potato and vegetables of your choice.

Stew turkey, mashed potato and green beans

Enjoy !

Leave a Reply

